Vision and mission

VISION

A free Palestine in which Palestinians engage in a dynamic cultural and artistic life that embraces creativity, freedom of expression and diversity as the main pillars for a just and inclusive society.

 

MISSION

By teaching, creating, performing and programming circus arts, the Palestinian Circus School strengthens the creative, social and physical potential of Palestinians, seeking to engage and empower them to become constructive actors in society and raises local and international awareness about the positive Palestinian potential and its different challenges.

HISTORY

“Circus? In Palestine? Is that really what Palestine needs?” That was the most common question the founders of the Palestinian Circus School faced in the beginning. By now, those familiar with the work of PCS are convinced: Yes! A circus in Palestine!

The effect of the Israeli military occupation has been very difficult for young Palestinians, particularly since the outbreak of the second Intifada in 2000. They witness their homes being unlawfully demolished, experience personal humiliation at checkpoints, suffer physical abuse and arbitrary detention and many carry the grief of having loved ones killed by the Israeli military. Moreover, they face the harsh reality of mounting responsibility in a tough economy with growing unemployment rates. Too many young people end up in the streets, where they struggle to make a few shekels by selling sweets, recycling rubbish or cleaning the windows of cars waiting at the checkpoints.

The Palestinian Circus School (PCS) began as a small circus group in August 2006 thanks to the determination of Shadi Zmorrod and Jessika Devlieghere, who initiated the idea to introduce circus arts from Palestinians for Palestinians.

Through the different components of circus education, they wanted to respond to the above-mentioned challenges. The substance of the circus pedagogy is to stimulate and develop the physical, mental, artistic, sensitive, social and cognitive abilities. They were convinced that circus would bring many youths a brighter future.

In January 2006, they were given the opportunity by the Belgian circus school ‘Cirkus in Beweging’ to start with a first intensive training course for young people living behind the wall. They offered to come to Palestine for an intensive workshop to train the people who would be involved in creating a permanent circus education structure in Palestine. In July 2006, a week before the beginning of the workshop, the Belgian team had to cancel its trip due to the outbreak of the Israeli war in Lebanon.

After three weeks of intensive training with a group of eight young people, the first performance of the school, “Circus Behind the Wall”, was presented in August 2006 at Ashtar Theatre in Ramallah. More than 250 people attended the first show and really enjoyed it! More than simply a sign of encouragement, it was a sign that the dream of the Palestinian circus group was very much alive.

Between August 2006 and January 2007, the group continued training without a permanent base. It still succeeded in delivering 7 performances in Ramallah, and one in Bethlehem. In 2007, Mays Hajjaj and Fadi Zmorrod, part of the key group that started in 2006, became the first trainers of the Palestinian Circus School, soon followed by Nayef Abdallah in 2008, to guarantee the continuous training of average 80 children on a weekly basis. The Palestinian Circus School was born! In 2009, the PCS started to lay its foundations to become a real institution, and engaged its first administrative staff.

Between 2007 and 2011, the PCS has been renting different training halls in Ramallah and Al Bireh to provide for the needs and safety of the students. In 2011, we finally moved to our current premises in the historic center of BirZeit, a village 10 kilometers North of Ramallah.

Thanks to Dr. Hanna Nasir who generously donated his building to our school for a period of 15 years, and the Belgian Federal Government that funded its renovation.

FOUNDERS

Shadi Zomorrod

Jessika Devlieghere

TEAM

Mohammad Rabah

Executive Director

Ahmad Rizqallah

Financial Manager

Rana Nasser

Projects Officer

Marah Natshe

Research, Development and Marketing Coordinator/Artist

Hanya Abdallah

Admin Assistant

Ahmad Abu Taleb

Productions coordinator/Artist

Noor Abu Al-Rob

Artistic coordinator/Artist

Mohammad Abu Taleb

POOL OF ARTISTS COORDINATOR/Artist

Alaa Jayousi

Circus Safety and Technician Coordinator

Nayef Abdallah

Circus Trainer’s Coordinator/Trainer

Mohammad Abu Sakha

Circus Pedagogy Coordinator/Trainer

Motasem Ghaith

Circus Trainer

Mohammad Dweikat

Circus Trainer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dr. Yousef Al Rimawi

President

Ms. Rawan Harb

Vice President

Mr. Sinan Mansour

Treasurer

Ms. Nadia Awad

Secretary

Mr. Raed Sadeq

Member

Ms. Tina Rafidi

Member

Mr. Khaled Miqdadi

Member

الرؤية والرسالة

الرؤية

دولة فلسطينية حرة ينخرط بها الفلسطينيون بحياة ثقافية وفنية نشطة تحتضن الإبداع وحرية التعبير والتعددية وتعتبرها ركائز أساسية لمجتمع عادل وشامل

 

الرسالة

من خلال تدريب وإنتاج وتأدية وبرمجة فنون السيرك، تسعى مدرسة سيرك فلسطين إلى تقوية الإمكانات الإبداعية والإجتماعية والجسدية للفلسطينيين لدمجهم وتمكينهم من أن يصبحوا أعضاءً فاعلين في المجتمع ورفع الوعي محلياً ودولياً حول الإمكانات الإيجابية للفلسطينيين والتحديات المختلفة التي تواجههم.

التاريخ

سيرك؟ في فلسطين؟ هل هذا فعلاً ما تحتاجه فلسطين؟” كان هذا السؤل هو الأكثر تردداً على مسامع مؤسسي المدرسة منذ بدايتها، والآن يجيب الجميع باقتناع: نعم!سيرك في فلسطين!

إن تأثير الاحتلال العسكري الإسرائيلي كان ولا زال كبير الوطأة على الشباب الفلسطيني لا سيما منذ اندلاع الإنتفاضة الثانية في عام 2000. فشبابنا يرون منازلهم تهدم أمامهم بغير حق، يُذلون على حواجز التفتيش، يُعتدى عليهم جسدياً، يواجهون الإعتقال التعسفي ويشاهدون أحبائهم يقتَلون يومياً. علاوةً على ذلك، يواجهون واقع قاس بتحملهم مسؤوليات متصاعدة ببيئة اقتصادية صعبة ترتفع فيها مستويات البطالة. وفي نهاية المطاف تجدهم في الشارع يبيعون السكاكر ويجمعون النفايات وينظفون زجاج السيارات على حواجز التفتيش من أجل بضعة شواقل.

بدأت مدرسة سيرك فلسطين كمجموعة صغيرة في آب 2006 بفضل مؤسسيها شادي زمرد وجيسيكا دوفليجرة، اللذان أتيا بفكرة قيام فلسطينيون بتدريب فنون السيرك للفلسطينيين.

فمن خلال المكونات المختلفة للسيرك أرادت المجموعة مواجهة التحديات سابقة الذكر. فالتدريب على فنون السيرك يهدف في جوهره إلى تحفيز وتطوير الإمكانيات الجسدية والذهنية والفنية والحسية والاجتماعية والمعرفية لدى الشباب. فهم مقتنعون بأن السيرك من شأنه تأمين مستقبل أكثر اشراقاً للعديد من الشباب.

وفي شهر كانون الثاني لعام 2006، منحت مدرسة السيرك البلجيكية "سيركيس إن بويجينغ" المجموعة فرصة تنظيم أول دورة تدريب مكثفة للشباب الذين يعيشون خلف الجدار. وعرضوا أن يقوموا بتنظيم ورشة عمل مكثفة في فلسطين لتدريب الشباب المنخرطين بمشروع إنشاء هيكلية دائمة لتعليم فنون السيرك في فلسطين. وفي حزيران من عام 2006 أي قبل أسبوع من بدء الدورة، ألغى الوفد البلجيكي زيارته المقررة إلى فلسطين بسبب الحرب التي شنتها اسرائيل على لبنان. تلقى فريق سيرك فلسطين الخبر بإحباط وغضب كبيرين إلا أنه واصل التدريب على الرغم من قلة الدعم. سارع ثلاث طلاب سيرك مقدسيين بمساعدة المجموعة حيث قاموا بتدريب الفريق على اللعب بالكرات والجمباز والأرجوحة. و بعد أن أطلقت المدرسة نداءً للمساعدة، لبى النداء بعض مدربي السيرك الأجانب الذين كانوا متواجدين في المنطقة حينها وقاموا بزيارة المدرسة في رام الله وقرروا البقاء. ومن ثم بدأت المدرسة باستضافة مدربي وفناني سيرك أجانب ممن ساهموا بصقل خبرة سيرك فلسطين.

بعد ثلاثة أسابيع من التدريب المكثف مع مجموعة مكونة من ثمانية شبان، قدَمت المدرسة عرضها الأول "سيرك من خلف الجدار" في شهر آب 2006 في مسرح عشتار في رام الله. حضر العرض أكثر من 250 شخص. لاقى العرض استحسان الجمهور، وكان ذلك بالنسبة لنا أكثر بكثير من إشارة تشجيع، بل كان إشارة بداية تحقيق حلمنا.

واصلت المجموعة تدريباتها في الفترة بين آب 2006 وكانون الثاني 2007 دون وجود مقر دائم لها. إلا أنها نجحت بتقديم 7 عروض في رام الله وعرض واحد في بيت لحم. وفي عام 2007، أصبح كل من فادي زمرد وميس حجاج، اللذان كانا جزء من المجموعة الأساسية التي بدأت عام 2006، اول مدربان في مدرسة سيرك فلسطين، وسرعان ما لحق بهما نايف عبدالله عام 2008 لضمان استمرارية التدريبات الأسبوعية لما معدله 80 طالب وطالبة. تم بذلك ولادة مدرسة سيرك فلسطين! وفي عام 2009، بدأت مدرسة سيرك فلسطين عملها كمؤسسة رسمية وقامت بتوظيف طاقمها الإداري الأول.

قامت المدرسة باستئجار عدة مواقع تدريبية في رام الله والبيرة بين عام 2007 وعام 2011 من أجل توفير الإحتياجات اللازمة ودواعي السلامة للطلاب أثناء التدريب. وفي عام 2011، انتقلت المدرسة أخيراً الى مقرها الحالي في وسط بلدة بيرزيت التاريخية التي تقع على بعد 10 كيلومترات من شمال رام الله.

تم ذلك بفضل تبرع كريم من الدكتور حنا ناصر الذي تبرع بمبناه لصالح مدرسة السيرك لمدة 15 عام والحكومة البلجيكية التي تكفلت بترميمه.

المؤسسين

شادي زمرد

جيسيكا ديفليغري

بمساعدة

فادي زمرد

ميس حجاج

الفريق

محمد رباح

المدير التنفيذي

أحمد رزق الله

المدير امالي

رنا ناصر

مسؤولة مشاريع

مرح النتشة

منسقة البحث والتطوير والتسويق/ فنانه

هانية عبدالله

مساعدة إدارية

أحمد ابو طالب

منسق انتاج العروض / فنان سيرك

نور ابو الرب

منسق الدائرة الفنية / فنان سيرك

محمد ابو طالب

منسق بركة الفنانين / فنان سيرك

علاء جيوسي

المنسق التقني

نايف عبدالله

منسق الدائرة التعليمية \مدرب

محمد أبو سخا

المنسق التربوي\مدرب

معتصم غيث

مدرب سيرك

محمد دويكات

مدرب سيرك

مجلس الإدارة

د. يوسف الريماوي

الرئيس

السيدة روان حرب

نائب الرئيس

السيد سنان منصور

أمين الصندوق

السيدة نادية عواد

أمينة السر

السيد رائد صادق

عضو

السيدة تينا رفيدي

عضو

السيد خالد مقدادي

عضو